Economic Delivery Board Announced For NEST

New Careers Review Documents Published
Chancellor Confirms U-turn On Windfall Tax

Economic Delivery Board Announced For NEST

Experienced leaders from business, academia, the third sector and trade unions have been appointed by the Scottish Government to the new delivery board promised in the National Economic Strategy to deliver Scotland’s long term economic ambitions.

The National Strategy for Economic Transformation Delivery Board will be co-chaired by economy secretary Kate Forbes and Barry White, who has held senior leadership roles in the private and public sectors including as a former chief executive of the Scottish Futures Trust.

The board, and its 12 members, replace the Enterprise and Skills Strategic Board, with an enhanced remit to hold all partners to account for the delivery of the commitments in the National Strategy.

It will focus on the delivery of the five key priority programmes that have been identified as having the greatest potential to deliver economic growth. These are stimulating entrepreneurship, opening new markets, increasing productivity, developing the skills needed for the decade ahead and ensuring fairer and more equal economic opportunities.

National Strategy for Economic Transformation Delivery Board members

  • Ewan Aitken – Chief Executive of Cyrenians
  • Colette Cohen – CEO of The Net Zero Technology Centre
  • Audrey Cumberford – Principal and Chief Executive of Edinburgh College
  • Gillian Docherty – Chief Commercial Officer of University of Strathclyde
  • Roz Foyer – General Secretary of Scottish Trade Union Congress
  • Uzma Khan – Vice-Principal Economic Development and Innovation, and Deputy Chief Operating Officer of the University of Glasgow
  • Sir Simon Lister – Managing Director of BAE Systems Naval Ships
  • Jamie McGowan – Managing Director of Essence of Harris
  • Douglas Millican – CEO of Scottish Water
  • Nora Senior – Executive Chair UK Regions/Ireland of Weber Shandwick
  • Ellis Watson – Former Chief Executive of DC Thomson Media Group

Read More

Leave a Reply